Spot-on Consistency in Exotics at Mikado Sushi

http://www.mikadosushiorlando.com/

It is no secret that I fancy exotic and fresh sushi. Since my first experience at Mikado Sushi about 2 years ago they have never let me down. After that first time, I was completely smitten. Even though I tried and enjoyed other sushi restaurants, this is where I go to fill my cravings.

2013-03-30 18.36.42

My recent experience was no different. Same warm welcome, same smiles and nods, same welcoming chit chat. So what’s new? They now source Aji. STOP! What? Did I hear right? Yes, I heard right. They source a limited quantity of my favorite little fish the Spanish Mackerel, or as it’s called in Japan, Aji.

2013-03-30 18.37.04

Aji Sashimi – Fresh aji scaled and skinned, filleted from carcass, served thinly sliced. Carcass deep fried. The fatty, oily, creamy, succulent flesh slips easily into my mouth for an outer body experience. I couldn’t help but devour the carcass in a few bites. Many may feel this fish is not to their taste. To each it’s own and this I like. Many have also questioned the authenticity of Aji in America. Go on with your purist fanatism, I don’t really care. I like this fish and will eat it anyplace it is served. I could have gone for another order, but this was the last one.

2013-03-30 18.37.12

Sea Scallop – Another one of my favorites. Tender, jelly like silken scallops served in shell, exploded with freshness and sweetness. One of these, close your eyes and let the moment happen.

2013-03-30 18.14.51

Rock Shrimp – lightly battered and fried, then tossed in a sweet tangy sauce. Little plumb burst of flavors.

2013-03-30 18.14.15

Tuna Tartare – When I show up in this restaurant, this is almost automatically prepared by the chef. I can almost see him working on this dish as I chit chat with my server. Before I order, this dish is placed on his sushi case as if to say “I know what you want.” Yes they know and yes I want, always. This ratio of fish to avocado to oil to vinegar is my exacting taste. Mix all of this hotness together and it sets the stage for a another epic meal.

2013-03-30 18.56.08

Toro – If you eat tuna belly, look at that marbling. I rest my case, nothing further said.

2013-03-30 18.34.50

Poison Spider Roll – Tempura Soft shell crab, cucumber, and mayo inside; topped with Spicy crab, black tobiko, and scallions. A great big roll that struggles to fit in your mouth but explodes in your gut. Does it get any better? Escolar Delight Roll – Escolar, spicy tuna, and shrimp tempura inside; topped with Escolar and wasabi tobiko. Offers a nice kick with the creaminess of escolar, very good roll.

2013-03-30 19.16.21

Chef’s Special Roll – As if things couldn’t get any better this show stopper arrived at the table after I asked for another roll. Tuna and escolar inside; topped with Salmon, tuna, escolar, and wait for it, sweet shrimp! The sweet shrimp heads were fried and poked out from the middle of the presentation. That entire head made it down my throat in one bite. Have I ever told you about my love affair with sweet shrimp? I have this really deep passionate place reserved for this delicacy. Wasabi, Black, Yellow, and Golden Tobiko rounds out the presentation. Go ahead and give this a name.

2013-03-30 18.13.47

Maihime Karakuchi Kiippon – Dancing Princess is not on the regular menu. This is one that is offered to those who “ask”. As a tokubetsu, special processing (simplified), designation this is rich, dry, and delivers on spiciness with lingering finish that dances on the back of the palate.

What started out as a regular sushi filling ended up as an epic meal. The staff at Mikado Metrowest made this all happen. When the staff remembers your every little nuances and matches to the freshest of what they are serving, it goes to the heights of hospitality. This may be a little place tucked away but they make it their business to deliver a great dining experience to every guest. It is evident with the constant banter that most people here are regulars and if not, by the time you leave you become part of the family. This is why I keep going back.

Mikado Sushi on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

