4Rivers Smokehouse Winter Garden

Orlando BBQ Restaurant | Orlando Barbecue | Defining the Art of Smoking.

This location really showcases the full extent of this marvelous concept in all of it’s smokiness. There is the same counter service and outdoor patio style seating, like it’s Winter Park location. However, there is indoor seating and more than ample parking here.

The indoor dining room is warm, rustic, and welcoming. With high ceilings and sturdy furniture, this is a perfect gathering place for large or small groups. It is ideal for children who never sit still in a restaurant, they can add to the casual family atmosphere of relaxed fun. The outdoor patio boast several picnic style benches and tables. Wide open galvanized beams replaces wood as you would expect in a country style setting. Here is a tip, go online consult the menu, place your order and pick up at the side take out window. Avoid the long lines. Or, what better way to dine than in a shed full of people. If you did not come in with everyone, you will know everyone before you leave. That is the kind of atmosphere created here. One big happy family.

Don’t let the big menu intimidate you. I say this because as I was walking in, an elder group of kind folks were surveying the menu. One distinguished gentleman remarked, “This is not Sonny’s BBQ.” Well, no….it certainly is not. This is way better. I am always confused when there are too many options to choose from. Because I want everything. So I have to tell myself before hand what I am going to eat. Or, let someone else do the ordering. I am like things 4Rivers. I have not tasted anything from the Winter Park location that I did not like. So running through Winter Garden menu it looks the same. If everything I’ve read about Chef John Rivers is true, I am sure there is duplicity and consistency in the food at all of his locations. Time to throwdown!

Baked bean potato salad cheese grit

Ribs, Baked Beans, Potato Salad, Jalapeno Cornbread, and Baked Cheesy Grits – The ribs were well seasoned with a nice balance of sweetness to saltiness. What sets this apart from most ribs in town is the same seasoned flavor carries throughout the ribs. Great marination! The sides were all spot on. Next time I gotta get more of that grits.

Brisket and Smoked chicken

Brisket, Smoked Chicken, Sweet Potato, Smoked Jalapeños wrapped in bacon, Mac and Cheese – Disclosure: I nibbled at the Jalapeños, since I am impartial to little fire crackers….whew it was hot! The brisket I should say on this occasion was a slight bit on the salty side, but still very flavorful. Chicken was tender, juicy, and full of smokiness. The sides were bursting with flavors.

Assortment of Sodas

I never quite realized how many different non mainstream sodas this restaurant carried. How many of these brands or varieties have you tasted?

Cream and Cherry Soda

Dr. Brown’s Cream Soda – not too gaseous but rich of creaminess

Cheerwine Cherry Soda – a nice fizzy burst of cherry.

I can’t wait to keep trying different types of sodas from here. Wonder if I can complete the list?

Another great replica of already amazing food. With the parking issue resolved from Winter Park, it goes to reason that there really is no comparison for BBQ anywhere else. The entire concept of smoking meats or any food for that matter was done outdoors in the great West. 4Rivers have hit the nail on the head so to speak, with this casual yet spot on concept. Great home meals served in comfortable surroundings. It is like having a feast with the entire family in the great American Outdoors. Yeehaw! Giddy up!

4Rivers Smokehouse on Urbanspoon

4 responses to “4Rivers Smokehouse Winter Garden

  1. I love 4Rivers. I’m a Texas transplant, and I never could find comparable BBQ in Florida . 4Rivers solved that problem! it is some of the best BBQ I have ever had.

  2. Pingback: 4Rivers Smokehouse Longwood « Traveler Foodie·

  3. Pingback: A foodie Christmas in Central Florida « Traveler Foodie·

Leave a comment